Homemade veg burgers

A couple of months ago, there was a conversation with a group of friends about McDonalds burger. As I listened, it struck me that I hadn’t had it for a very long time! I also realised that I forgot how the veg burger tasted. So, I promptly made it a point to have it. First bite in, I remembered why I stopped eating it – it had a lot of salt (obviously)! I wanted to test out the Hesburger’s veg burger. The day we went, they served us falafel based veggie option & informed us that those were the last of Hesburger’s veg burger. They were not going to sell them anymore in the future! Too bad, because if necessary I would choose Hesburger over McDonalds. That burger mania was short-lived!

The other day, we came across burger buns on our grocery shopping trip. The moment TH saw them, he had a recipe for veg burger forming in his head. So, we bought them & made our own (healthier) version of veg burger. Needless to say, these are the best I ever had! And, they are so easy!

To start with, boil potatoes, carrots, cauliflower, peas, beetroot, etc. Mash them up and add salt, chilli powder.

mashed veggies

I made some olive bread the day before. Here are the bread crumbs from the leftover olive bread.

breadcrumbs

Make balls from the mashed vegetable mixture, flatten them into discs & toss them in the breadcrumbs. Heat a teaspoon (or more if you like) of oil in a frying pan & fry them on both sides.

patties

Lightly toast the buns in a toaster. Slice up red onion, iceberg lettuce, tomato & mozzarella cheese. Layer the burger with the fried veg patty & slices of cheese, onion, tomato, lettuce. There it is!

burger top

burger

I had it with tomato ketchup on the side. TH loves mustard, so he had his with mustard & ketchup. Unexpectedly, we made a lot more patties than required. So the next few days we had them in tortilla rolls & burgers (again!). Next time, I hope to make the buns also at home 🙂

2 thoughts on “Homemade veg burgers

Share your thoughts -

