Stir fried spaghetti

Living by myself, some years ago, I would try to spend as little time as possible in the kitchen on week days. Most dinners featured veg rice, pasta, tortilla (instead of roti/chapati) with curry or stir fried spaghetti. I do not remember how I came to this recipe but I made it quite often, altering the ingredients now & then.

This is one of the quickest & simplest recipes! And totally customisable!

Total time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

  • Spaghetti
  • Water to boil
  • Salt
  • 1/2 tbsp Curry powder (any store brought variety works) – use more if you like!
  • 1 tbsp Oil

How I make:

  • Cook spaghetti per package instructions in a pot of boiling water. Drain & set aside for a minute.
  • Heat a tablespoon of oil in a frying pan.
  • Add salt & curry powder in the pan.
  • Transfer the spaghetti in to the pan.
  • Mix everything (oil+salt+curry powder+spaghetti) until well coated.
  • Stir fry on high for 4 minutes approx.
  • Switch off stove & serve hot.
  • Drizzle some olive oil if you feel it is too dry.

Variations:

  1. I add pepper powder or chillies just before adding spaghetti.          (or)
  2. During stir fry, I toss a tablespoon of sweet & hot chilli sauce.

spaghetti

The other day TH was on a work trip, I made this for lunch. TH came home for dinner & in spite of a fresh rice-based meal on the dining table, he was overjoyed to see the leftovers of stir fried spaghetti. Then he tells me – ”It has been so long! I made it often before we moved in together”!! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Stir fried spaghetti

Share your thoughts -

