Easy knitted potholder

I have been trying out knitting continental for the last few months. First I made a cowl (I’ll post about it soon).  Next, I wanted to make a triangular scarf from the bottom up. I browsed lots of patterns but ended up using the basic stitches I know in an alternating fashion. But that’s not the end. After doing about 45 rows, I figured I am not patient enough to knit it to the triangular scarf size! So, I began making decreases until it looked like a rectangle. Please bear with the slightly crooked shape, I didn’t block it.

potholder

Note: I checked as much as I could to see if this was already a pattern by some one else. I didn’t find anything.  So, here is the pattern from me.

Add this pattern to your Ravelry queue here

Pin it from here

Yarn: Baruffa Merino Extra Fine

Knitting Needles: 4 mm

Crochet Hook: 4 mm

Pattern:

Body: CO 3 stitches.

(A) Knit first 2 stitches. In the last stitch, kfb. 1 increase made.

*Knit all until 1 stitch remains. In the last stitch, kfb* 

Repeat *-* 9 more times

=>Total 11 rows of garter stitch with 1 increase in every row.

(B) K1, P1 until 1 stitch remains. In the last stitch, kfb.

K1, P1 until 1 stitch remains. In the last stitch, pfb

Repeat the above 2 rows until a total of 9 rows are made.

=>Total 9 rows of 1×1 ribbing with 1 increase in every row.

Repeat (A) and (B) one more time.

Knit 5 rows of (A).

*Knit all until 2 stitches remain. k2tog*  1 decrease made.

Repeat *-* 5 more times.

=>Total 11 rows of garter stitch with increases for 5 rows & decreases for 6 rows.

(C) K1, P1 until 2 stitches remain. p2tog.

K1, P1 until 2 stitches remain. k2tog

Repeat the above 2 rows until a total of 9 rows are made.

=>Total 9 rows of 1×1 ribbing with 1 decrease in every row.

(D) *Knit all until 2 stitches remain. k2tog* 

Repeat *-* 10 more times

=>Total 11 rows of garter stitch with 1 decrease in every row.

Repeat (C) and (D) one more time.

When 3 stitches remain, bind off.

potholder edging

Edging:

1. With 4mm crochet hook, make a slip stitch & attach yarn to any corner.

2. Evenly place single crochets (sc) along the border of the rectangle. Slip stitch into the starting stitch.

3. In the next st, dc 5 times (into same st). sc into next st. *Skip 1 st. dc 5 times into next st. sc into next st*. Repeat *-* around the rectangle.

Fasten off & weave in loose ends. Block to shape (I didn’t).

It is a very easy pattern. If the instructions look complicated, please ask me & I’ll clarify. Like I mentioned in my crochet wristwarmers post, this is my first time writing out instructions for knitting.

Since my initial plan was a scarf, I used merino yarn. Cotton or acrylic would be more appropriate for the potholder. Why not make dishcloths & washcloths or even a blanket with the same pattern?

Have fun knitting! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Easy knitted potholder

  1. Beautiful pattern! Do you know the measurements in in or cm of this potholder? I am knitting a set of potholders, one at a time-all different, but I do want their sizes to match. Thank you!!!

    Like

Share your thoughts -

