My first crochet project

Today, we are celebrating the first anniversary of our craft group. A year ago, a friend asked me if I’d be interested in joining her to a craft meeting. Around the same time, I was suddenly interested in crochet but didn’t make anything yet. So, armed with a ball of yarn & a crochet hook, I showed up at the coffee shop.

I knew the name granny square. I asked if someone could teach me how to make one. I didn’t know what I would do with it. I simply made one round after another until there was only a small amount of yarn left. The square was too big to be considered a square for a blanket & too small to actually call it a one piece baby blanket (at that time, I had no idea about crocheting for dolls!). So, I just folded it over & sewed the ends. A tablet bag was created!

tabletcover

tablet cover

See this on my Ravelry page

I crocheted a ribbon to tie the bag. The ribbon was pretty simple – make chains (sorry, forgot how many!), dc into the 3rd chain from the hook & into every chain till the end. My yarn was just enough!

This is the first yarn related project I made (read finished) in my life! I was so thrilled & hooked to crochet from that day on 🙂

5 thoughts on “My first crochet project

Share your thoughts -

