Fabric printing & 100th post!

I have been attending a textile workshop (course) since last month. The options in the course are quite broad & flexible. It is more like a place where you can go & try whatever interests you (fabric related, knit/crochet techniques, jewellery-making,etc). The teacher shows samples & suggests what can be done in each area. Then, you are off on your own (with help from teacher, if required) to create. The place has the necessary equipment, paints, fabric, sewing machines, etc some of which are pay-for-what-you-use.

I am currently interested in fabric related techniques. So, I started off with tye & dye and hand-printing.

tye-dye

Two basic tye & dye techniques got me these two colorful fabrics!

tye-dye1

Then, I did some basic hand-printing with a round wooden block. Dip it in paint & press on fabric!

polka printing

This is my favourite print – chevron. I made a stencil of the chevron pattern & used it to paint on the fabric. I want to make so many more colors in this design! Previously, I crocheted two chevron lace cardigans and a scarf (no picture).

chevron print handprinting

None of the fabric pieces shown here are ironed yet, hence the not-so-pretty creases. Once I am done working completely (ironing, sewing) on these, I will post the FOs.

This is officially my 100th published post! Yay! Thank you lovely people 🙂

13 thoughts on “Fabric printing & 100th post!

  1. First of all, congratulations on your 100th post! Hooray!
    And also, these fabrics are simply divine! You are super talented….I really love them all but the fuchsia one with the “tiger stripes” is my favorite…
    Will you use them to make pillows? or perhaps scarves? Or something else ? Look forward to seeing the results!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts -

