Knit: Poncho

On my birthday, I usually wear new clothes, this year (today!) I will wear a knit cowl-poncho along with my dress! I knit this cute elbow length cowl/poncho in late spring this year. It was actually featured as a movie poster 😉

At first glance, it might look like a little skirt but I love how it turned out! This project is actually the first big needles project that allowed me to enjoy knitting & finish quickly. This will be nice & cosy in autumn-winter, wouldn’t it?

Pattern: Fig Big Cowl on Ravelry

Yarn: Super bulky wool

Needles: 10 mm

poncho

My take on the pattern:

  1. Used 10 mm needles instead of 9 mm & I didn’t change the size after a few rows like many suggested.
  2. Made a second increase after 10 rows of first increase.
  3. Seed stitch to define borders at top & bottom.

I also learned to make ‘jeny’s surprisingly stretchy bind off’ technique when I made this cowl/poncho. Very useful & less stressful!

Other cowls & scarves I made (click picture to go to original post) –

blue scarf
Reversible cowl
forever 21 scarf
Forever 21 scarf (one of my first crochet projects)
Honey cowl
Honey cowl (my first knit!)
slip stitch scarf
Slip stitch scarf

Which do you like?

2 thoughts on “Knit: Poncho

Share your thoughts -

