Bullet journal

Years ago, a girl was distributing freebies at a tram stop. It was a small but thick book. When I opened it, it had the year’s calendar & pages for every day of the year. I had no idea what to do with it. Some of the pages in the book had interesting drawings & sceneries. So, I carefully stored it (can’t help it, I am trying to change this habit & use things today and not resorting to storing-forgetting-and ultimately never using it cycle).

Eventually, I noticed people opening their precious (big & small) calendar books to decide on a meeting time, party, road trip, shopping, laundry and what not. So, I tried once. I forgot about it. Then I tried again & made it a habit. I also learnt it is called a daily planner. Now, 9 years later, a yearly calendar book aka daily planner is a huge & important part of my life!

Over the years, I used different daily planners from basic to fancy. January 1st is an exciting day to start my new planner each year. But, it is also a frustrating day when I am in two minds – should I throw away last year’s planner or save it?

In 2015, I came across a ‘bullet journal’. Wow! It was exactly what I wanted. Bullet journal screams creative, open, flexible, authentic and personal. For newbies, a bullet journal is basically a combined daily planner and a diary. It can be much more too. I love that it is totally customisable and makes sense to store it to read in the future (after all, it is a personal diary too)!

There are tons of tips, ideas and photos of people’s bullet journals all over the internet. I have scoured Pinterest for bullet journal pins. See some of my favourites (click each picture to go to their source) –

bujo-roadmap
Roadmap bullet journal from ‘Hello I am Prince’
bujo-tracker
Bullet Journal ideas from ‘Boho Berry’
bujo-layouts
Daily Layout ideas from ‘Without Elephants’
bujo-qa
Bullet Journal ideas from ‘Pepper and Twine’
bujo-qa1
Bullet Journal ideas from ‘Pepper and Twine’
bujo-qa2
Bullet Journal ideas from ‘Pepper and Twine’

So, what do you think? Do you use year planners or bullet journals?

 

Share your thoughts -

